Lewis Hamilton overtakes Max Verstappen for late Hungary win

Lewis Hamilton staged a thrilling fightback to catch and pass Max Verstappen for victory in the Hungarian Grand Prix.

Hamilton's eighth win of the season puts a headlock on the championship after a tense race-long battle between the drivers and their strategists at the Mercedes and Red Bull teams.

Hamilton came very close to pulling off a brave move for the lead around the outside of the 150mph Turn Four.

But a gamble by Mercedes to make an extra pit stop gave Hamilton much faster tyres for the closing stages and he closed a 20-second deficit in less than 20 laps to pass Verstappen for the lead with three laps to go.

It puts Hamilton 62 points ahead in the championship with nine races to go – and a maximum of 234 points available. His sixth title is as good as won.

Changing of the guard? Not yet, according to Hamilton, who took his 81st career win.

It was a mouth-watering fight between the greatest driver of his generation, Hamilton, and the man who is emerging as the leader of the next, and the first time they had disputed a grand prix victory in such a way.

The two were in a race of their own, with the Ferraris more than a minute behind at the flag and Hamilton's team-mate Valtteri Bottas taken out of contention by a touch with Hamilton and then Ferrari's Charles Leclerc on the first lap, which broke the Finn's front wing.

There was stalemate between Verstappen and Hamilton in the first stint, after the Dutchman converted pole position into a lead at the first corner, and Hamilton moved into second by passing Bottas, who had qualified ahead, into the second corner.

But as the time for pit stops approached, Hamilton closed right in on Verstappen, forcing Red Bull into an early stop on lap 25 to ensure Mercedes did not do the same and 'under-cut' them into the lead.

Hungarian Grand Prix Results

1 Great BritainLewis Hamilton Mercedes

2 Netherlands Max Verstappen  Red Bull 

3  Germany Sebastian Vettel  Ferrari

4 Monaco Charles Leclerc  Ferrari 

5 Spain Carlos Sainz Jnr McLaren 

6 France Pierre Gasly Red Bull

7 Finland Kimi Raikkonen  Alfa Romeo 

8 Finland Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 

9 Great Britain Lando Norris  McLaren 

10 Thailand Alexander Albon  Toro Rosso 

11 Mexico Sergio Perez  Racing Point 

12 Germany Nico Hulkenberg  Renault 

13  Denmark Kevin Magnussen  Haas 

14 Australia Daniel Ricciardo  Renault 

15 Russia Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 

16  Great Britain George Russell Williams 

17 Canada Lance Stroll  Racing Point 

18 Italy Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo 

19 Poland Robert Kubica Williams 

not classified France Romain Grosjean  Haas 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *